Martyn Raybould

Martyn Raybould

Attention all Journalists & Editors! The Guild of Motoring Writers is on the look out for award recipients for 2019. And, they have £15,000 to back it up!

  • Guild of Motoring Writers seeking 2019’s best editors, features writers and motorsport journalists
  • 2019 Bentley Motors Editor, BCA Feature Writer and Peugeot Motorsport Awards all open for entry
  • £15,000 prize fund for winners and finalists

The Guild of Motoring Writers is on the look-out for 2019’s finest editors, feature writers and motorsport journalists, as part of its Annual Awards. There is a total of £15,000 prize money for winners and finalists, and entries are now open on the Guild website:

  • Bentley Motors Editor of the Year

One of the most prized titles in the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards is that of Editor of the Year.

It is presented to the editor who demonstrates they have balanced the demands of publishers and readers while nurturing journalistic talent and successfully making the critical decisions that turn a good publication into a great one.

The judges are looking for strong leadership, innovations in the approach to editing, and a keen understanding of the target audience and their requirements, as well as supporting the development of their staff.

Editors can enter themselves or be entered by a colleague. Entrants in this category are requested to provide an explanation of why their work deserves to be selected, including any aspects they feel are especially deserving of mention. Examples here include developing a new product, re-directing a product or introducing fresh impetus to a product.

Entries should be supported with examples of the product they edit which demonstrate the qualities outlined in the submission. This material can be supplied as pdfs, jpeg scans or links to websites. Alternatively, two identical examples of hard-copies of the product (where appropriate) may be submitted by post (with a print out of the completed entry form) – up to a maximum of three examples of the product can be sent.

The best work nets the winner a crystal trophy and a cheque for £1,000.

Previous notable winners: David Lillywhite, Nick Trott, Tom Evans, Jim Holder, Damien Smith, Dan Trent, Tim Pollard, Paul Barker and current title-holder Laurie Caddell.

  • BCA Feature Writer of the Year

The most hotly contested title in the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards competition is that for the Feature Writer of the Year – it regularly attracts more entries than any other category in the competition.

It is presented, with the support of long-standing backer British Car Auctions, for the best general feature dealing with any aspect of the motoring scene by a Guild member. It can appear in any media from newspapers and magazines to websites and broadcasting.

The best work nets the winner a crystal trophy and a cheque for £1,000.

Previous notable winners include: Andrew English, Dan Trent, Alistair Weaver, Nat Barnes, Giles Chapman, David Lillywhite, Nick Trott, James Taylor and, last year, Richard Webber

  • Peugeot Motorsport Award

Each year the Guild of Motoring Writers recognises an outstanding achievement by a Guild member in the world of motorsport, either writing about or competing in motorsport at any level, in any category.

Previously the winner received the famous and extremely valuable Rootes Gold cup and recipients have included: Le Mans 24 Hours winner Paul Frere, East African Safari entrant Tommy Wisdom; saloon car racers Nick Britton, Roger Bell, Tony Dron and Rex Greenslade; international rally drivers John Davenport and Tom Leake, as well as motorcycle racer Alan Cathcart and Formula Ford exponent John Swift.

Since 2010 the award has been sponsored by Peugeot which has presented its own Peugeot Cup. The category has been opened up to include those who write about motorsport in any of its many two- and four-wheel disciplines.

The best work nets the winner a crystal trophy and a cheque for £1,000.

Previous notable winners include: Guy Loveridge, Jim McGill, Ed McDonough, Tim Pollard, Formula One doyen Maurice Hamilton, Andrew Charman and, last year, overseas member Vaishali Dinakaran.

Material (which should have been published or broadcast in the 12 months up to 30 September 2019), can be supplied as pdfs, jpeg scans or URL links to websites (the material must be readily accessible from the date of entry until 31 December 2019). Entrants are encouraged to include information on why their work deserves to be selected and also should provide a brief outline of each item entered.

Entries cannot be sent as time restricted WeTransfer, Dropbox documents or similar. Books are only eligible to be entered into the Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy and hard copies of publications are only accepted in the Editor of the Year category. An individual piece of material (such as a story or feature) can only be submitted into one category.

The Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy is the only category open to non-Guild members. The winner of each individual category automatically goes forward as a finalist in the GOMW Journalist of the Year Award.

The closing date for entries is Monday 30 September 2019.

For full details on all the award categories, prize money and an entry form go to:

Candidates are advised to read the online instructions carefully before entering. If you have any questions about the entry procedure contact Honorary Secretary, Chris Adamson email:

Three finalists will be selected in each category and each will be provided with a free ticket (worth £96) to the Guild’s 75th Anniversary Annual Dinner on Thursday 05 December 2019 at the Royal Automobile Club Pall Mall, London. Entrants are asked to ensure that they are available on this date to attend the awards should they be selected.


AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year (prize £1,000)
Audi Photographic Awards (£500 each General and Motorsport categories)
BCA Feature Writer of the Year (£1,000)
Bentley Motors Editor of the Year (£1,000)
CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year (£1,000)
GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year (£1,000)
IAM RoadSmart Award (£1,000)
Market Engineering Automotive Technology Award (£1,000)
Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy (£1,100 / £250 / £150)
Newspress Young Writer of the Year (£1,000)
Peugeot Motorsport Cup (£1,000)
Prova PR Business writer of the Year (£750)
RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year (£1,000)
VSCC Specialist Writer of the Year (£1,000)
GOMW Journalist of the Year – selected from the winners of the individual award categories (£1,000) 

SVA Says: The Association is a keen supporter of the Guild, its MD Martyn Raybould presented the 2018 Editor of the Year award. For more details contact: Richard Aucock PR Officer at:

Share this post