Martyn Raybould

Martyn Raybould

The Guild of Motoring Writers is offering £15,000 for business, technology and consumer journalist..

  • Guild of Motoring Writers seeking 2019’s best business, consumer and technology journalists
  • GKN Driveline Consumer, Market Engineering Automotive Technology and Prova PR Business Writer Awards all open for entry
  • £15,000 prize fund for winners and finalists

The Guild of Motoring Writers is on the look-out for 2019’s finest technology, consumer and business journalists, as part of its Annual Awards. There is a total of £15,000 prize money for winners and finalists, and entries are now open on the Guild website:

  • GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year

Many readers rely on motoring publications and websites to provide them with expert advice on selecting and buying automotive products and services. The best reporting in this field by a member of the Guild of Motoring Writers is rewarded with the title of the GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year.

The judges are looking for the most outstanding example of consumer journalism with articles that are innovative and entertaining, demonstrate lots of research and have conclusions presented in an easily digested format.

The best work nets the winner a crystal trophy and a cheque for £1,000.

Previous notable winners include: Nat Barnes, James Foxall, Alistair Weaver, Tim Pollard, David Williams, Richard Aucock, James Ruppert, John Evans and 2018 recipient Claire Evans.

  • Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

Reporting on technical aspects of the motor industry in a way that is both interesting and informative to the man-in-the-street, as well as technical experts, is a difficult task. However, it is one that will have been accomplished by this year’s Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism winner.

Part of the annual Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Awards since 1999, the judges in this category are looking for a journalist with the ability to write features that are valued by specialists in the subject yet which are also interesting and accessible to non-specialists.

For those who can take this broad approach in their stride, a £1,000 cheque and a crystal trophy awaits.

Previous notable winners include: Karl Ludvigsen, James Griffiths, Ian Adcock, William Kimberley, Brian Weatherley, James Scoltock, Martin Kahl, Lem Bingley and, 12 months ago, Nick Hull.

  • Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

In recent years, one of the biggest growth sectors in automotive journalism has been that devoted to covering the business of vehicle manufacture, marketing, sales and distribution. The finest work in this field is recognised by the Guild of Motoring Writers with the Prova PR Business Writer of Year.

This award recognises excellence among members who work in business media, both print and online. Judges are looking for clarity of writing and well researched articles that help readers understand the complexities of the business side of the UK auto industry from a retail, fleet or manufacturing perspective.

Prova PR has been the backer of this award since it was instigated in 2009 and, this year, the prize money for the winner is £750, along with a crystal trophy to keep.

Previous notable winners include: Ralph Morton, Tim Pollard, Jack Carfrae, Mark Bursa, John Maslen, Debbie Wood, Simon Duval-Smith and, 12 months ago, Nick Gibbs.


Material (which should have been published or broadcast in the 12 months up to 30 September 2019), can be supplied as pdfs, jpeg scans or URL links to websites (the material must be readily accessible from the date of entry until 31 December 2019). Entrants are encouraged to include information on why their work deserves to be selected and also should provide a brief outline of each item entered.

Entries cannot be sent as time restricted WeTransfer, Dropbox documents or similar. Books are only eligible to be entered into the Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy and hard copies of publications are only accepted in the Editor of the Year category. An individual piece of material (such as a story or feature) can only be submitted into one category.

The Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy is the only category open to non-Guild members. The winner of each individual category automatically goes forward as a finalist in the GOMW Journalist of the Year Award.

The closing date for entries is Monday 30 September 2019.

For full details on all the award categories, prize money and an entry form go to:

Candidates are advised to read the online instructions carefully before entering. If you have any questions about the entry procedure contact Honorary Secretary, Chris Adamson email:

Three finalists will be selected in each category and each will be provided with a free ticket (worth £96) to the Guild’s 75th Anniversary Annual Dinner on Thursday 05 December 2019 at the Royal Automobile Club Pall Mall, London. Entrants are asked to ensure that they are available on this date to attend the awards should they be selected.


AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year (prize £1,000)
Audi Photographic Awards (£500 each General and Motorsport categories)
BCA Feature Writer of the Year (£1,000)
Bentley Motors Editor of the Year (£1,000)
CNH Industrial Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year (£1,000)
GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year (£1,000)
IAM RoadSmart Award (£1,000)
Market Engineering Automotive Technology Award (£1,000)
Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy (£1,100 / £250 / £150)
Newspress Young Writer of the Year (£1,000)
Peugeot Motorsport Cup (£1,000)
Prova PR Business writer of the Year (£750)
RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year (£1,000)
VSCC Specialist Writer of the Year (£1,000)
GOMW Journalist of the Year – selected from the winners of the individual award categories (£1,000)


Richard Aucock
Press Officer
The Guild of Motoring Writers

To find out more about what the Guild offers, visit Keep up to date on Twitter @gomw_uk and Facebook at

Guild membership costs from as little as £66 a year. All members receive the Guild Year Book, an indispensable and comprehensive industry directory, plus a regular e-newsletter and industry updates. There are also generous discounts and preferential rates from a wide range of organisations.

Share this post